Reflections…A Year in Colombia

Leer en español

A photo with some of the members of the Mennonite Church

A photo with some of the members of the Mennonite Church

Time passes quickly, imperceptibly. The days turn into months, and it has already been a year since I left my country. Soon the days and months will add again, and when the end arrives, I will change course; but here I am learning and enjoying every day.

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity” – Ecclesiastes 3:1 (NIV).

I remember when Carolina shared this text with us during orientation in Bogotá. Although I had already read it before, it impacted me because I found myself in a different context, surrounded by people that I barely knew. This experience is and will be invaluable in my life. I make the most of today; it is my time as a Peruvian in Colombia, where I pass by unnoticed in the street, but they notice my difference after speaking and even imitate my accent as a joke.

“Out in the open wisdom calls aloud, she raises her voice in the public square” – Proverbs 1:20 (NIV).

Although the voice of wisdom is often inaudible, I find her in street murals that call for peace in this country, in popular sayings, in the stories of the old, in the answers of the adults, in the strength and spontaneity of the youth, in the innocence of the children. Wisdom is everywhere, you just have to sharpen your listening to hear it.

“Cry out for insight, and ask for understanding. Search for them as you would for silver; seek them like hidden treasures.” – Proverbs 2:3-4 (NLT).

This is one of my favorite verses. I am aware that I come from a different place and culture and that sometimes I do not understand some local slang or customs, and so I have to ask for explanations to be able to understand. Sometimes I am like a turtle, but it is funny. The riches that I seek are memories, words, and wise answers.

From the Project "Sowers of Peace" and the Church of Seeds of Hope.

From the Project “Sowers of Peace” and the Church of Seeds of Hope.

“Commit your actions to the Lord, and your plans will succeed.” – Proverbs 16:3

I have adopted the dreams and projects of my community, and I want them to be realized.  Although my time here is short, I hope to contribute to the work of these projects. They are in the hands of God, but they are also in the work that is done; I hope that they are built upon rock so that they can firmly grow and not be easily torn down. Amen.

Leave a Reply

