For Pastor Beatrice

Leer en español

IMG_1606-edit

Beatrice – in yellow – and Yineth prepare a meal for a regional event for elderly church members.

How you pastor with kindness and love

How you sing with all you have, arms outstretched

How you guide the masses of wily children with patience and a smile

How your hands gracefully wash rice, dice vegetables, add salt, and stir

How you serve with sparkling eyes and spunk

Humbles me, inspires me, and shows me the face of Christ.

How you balance life between three communities – constantly in motion

How you care for your daughter with special needs

How your eyes fill with tears as you tell me how you, watching over her, miss being able to come to church

How you study through the rigors of becoming a nurse, on top of everything else

How you desire to take those skills back to your home community

Humbles me, inspires me, and shows me the face of Christ.

IMG_9367-edit

How you admit that jealousy originally drove you to the church over twenty years ago

How you tell about the problems you had with the pastor’s daughter

How you let your heart be changed by their love

How you heard the call alongside your husband to pastor for these eleven years

How you left before dawn on Sundays to arrive at church by champa*

How you paddled upriver for hours again in the afternoon

Humbles me, inspires me, and shows me the face of Christ.

IMG_9435-edit

I don’t always understand it all

Church politics

Rapid-fire Chocoano phrases

Unspoken cultural rules

Why things are the way they are

But how you live and share and move

How you bless us all

Humbles me, inspires me, and shows me the face of Christ.


*canoe


At this moment Seed Colombia is accepting applicants. If you are interested in learning more about the program click here, or contact Nate Howard <nathanielhoward@mcc.org> program co-facilitator. If you are interested in applying, please send your resume and a cover letter to: <seedprogram@mcc.org>.

Leave a Reply

