One Year! Service, Reflection and Experience

It’s been a year already since I began this experience called Seed, for which I give thanks to God and to Mennonite Central Committee (MCC) for allowing me to be a part of this program that has been full of learning for my growth. Here I have learned the value of service.

Seed gave me the opportunity to get to know a part of Africa, the continent where my roots come from, and also to get to know new people from different continents, countries and languages but with the same purpose to service.

Together with the Congo Seeder, Steve Melho Grachet

I also had the opportunity to visit the Mandela House, which was Nelson Mandela’s home before being incarcerated, which as an Afro-descendant person filled me with pride because I’ve always heard about him, and to be able to be in his house was a blessing.

In the Mandela House in South Africa

But also on this journey, and accidentally but fortunately, I had the opportunity to be in Rome, a city mentioned a lot in the Bible.

The Roman Coliseum

And returning to my beautiful Colombia to serve.

The Colombia Seed team

Bread and Life Soup Kitchen, San Nicolás, Suacha

The Bread and Life Soup Kitchen is a social ministry of the Mennonite Church located in the neighborhood San Nicolás in Suacha. It attends close to 150 children with food, recreation, and other activities.

People from La Resurrección Mennonite Church, San Nicolás, Suacha

Personnel from the Children’s Training Center (Centro de Capacitación de el Niño, CCN)

The Children’s Training Center is part of the children’s ministry of El Progreso Mennonite Brethren Church in Suacha. It attends close to 70 children in preschool, kindergarten and first grade.

This has been a year in which, although I have been far from my family, I have met people that have received me as part of their family, and this shows that serving is worth it. I have learned a lot about the Colombian context, about the importance of the church’s social work, about peace. It has been a year of a lot of reflection, learning and self-care.

“Behold, you shall call a nation that you do not know, and a nation that did not know you shall run to you, because of the Lord your God, and of the Holy One of Israel, for he has glorified you.”

Isaiah 55:5 (ESV)

Translated by Carrie Vereide

Leave a Reply

